Elianto e i Mondi Alterei

…tutto quello che mi passa per la testa (e per le mani)

Valiant Miniatures: “British Tommies 44-45″ Review

Posted by Elianto su giugno 23, 2007

In this article I’ll review one of the first two plastic miniatures box in 1/72 scale (about WW2) made by english company Valiant Miniatures. This two box, “British Tommies 44-45″ e “Classic German Infantry 44-45″, are a fresh air breeze in the world of 1/72 plastic miniatures because their main target is mainly the wargamer. In particular the two boxes contain enough mens and bits to build up a full battalion to be deployed for a game with the“Rapid Fire!“ ruleset.

The box hold 4 copies of the same sprue, each made up of 14 minis and a good number of weapons, backpacks and accessories useful to customize each soldier (also included 4 Vickers HMG and 4×3″ Mortars). To help customizing the sprues also contain an extra batch of soldiers heads with different headgear (beret, officer’s cap, helmets and bear heads) and of the 14 soldiers two are without arms, this allows players to choose the weapon needed among a serie of different weapons/arms. The quality of the work behind this box production is high, the minis are not mockups and the poses are nice and naturals, mould lines minimal and often invisible. The sprues are made up of hard plastic (similar to the GW sprues quality) this allows to work with cutter and putty to easily modifies each soldier. An example of such possibilities is shown on the gallery inside the official website: Gallery1 and Gallery2

Compared to the standard plastic 1/72 producers the Valiant miniatures are different not only for the plastic material and the wargamer style sprue. Also the miniature size and the sculpt style is wargames oriented, the soldier height is nearly 25mm (so incompatible with the standard 1/72 plastic producers) and the style of the sculpt is beefier, similar to one used by the main producers of lead miniatures.

The “British Tommies 44-45″ box holds a total of 68 miniatures in 14 different poses on 4 sprues, the poses and bits in details are:

  • Officer with binoculars (4)
  • Officer map (4)
  • FO kneeling (4)
  • NCO with Sten (4)
  • Radio Operator with Sten kneeling (4) with kit Radio (4)
  • Vickers HMG and Gunner (4)
  • Gunner for Mortar / Piat (4)
  • Soldier with 2″ Mortar (4)
  • Mortar assistant with ammo box (4)
  • Soldier with gun walking (style 1 x 8)
  • Soldier with gun walking (style 2 x 8)
  • Soldier with gun running (8)
  • Soldier kneeling (no arms x 4)
    – Right arm with PIAT (4)
    – Right arm with Bren (4)
    – Left arm for Bren/PIAT (4)
  • Soldier walking (no right arm x4)
    – Right arm with Bren (4)
    – Right arm with Lee Enfield (4)
    – Right arm with Ammo Box (4)
  • Extra head with Helmet (8)
  • Extra head with Officer Hat (8)
  • Extra head with Beret(8)
  • Extra bear head (8)
  • 3″ Mortar (4)
  • Backpack (40)
  • Stone wall for bren/piat (4)
  • Base for Vickers HMG (4)
  • Booklet with assembly instructions and battalion organization guide for “Rapid Fire!”

Nice the idea to print on the box sides a small set of city ruins to cut and glue as scenario.

For the quality and quantity that this box holds (available at a price of £8,99 – about 13-15 euros) I suggest to get one or more boxes! With only one of them you can build up enough men to start playing not only with Rapid Fire, and together with the German Infantry box you can field two opposite armies for your games. Lovers of standard 1/72 plastic miniatures can have some problem in liking this product, but for wargamers who love lead products and don’t have too many compatibility problems will find this box great!

A big thank to Valiant Miniatures for supporting me the material needed for this review!

21 Risposte to “Valiant Miniatures: “British Tommies 44-45″ Review”

  1. Carpet said

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article
    or vice-versa? My site goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  2. Jim said

    You’ve made some good points there. I checked on the net to learn more about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this website.

  3. Tanja said

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog
    loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

  4. Hi everyone, it’s my first visit at this web page, and article is genuinely fruitful in support of me, keep up posting such articles.

  5. Nelly said

    Incredible story there. What occurred after?
    Take care!

  6. Greetings, There’s no doubt that your website may be having browser compatibility issues. Whenever I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues.

    I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Aside from that, wonderful blog!

  7. You’re so cool! I do not believe I have read anything like this before. So nice to find another person with genuine thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up. This website is something that is needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

  8. naturally like your web site but you have to take a look at the spelling on several
    of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very troublesome to tell the
    truth nevertheless I’ll certainly come back again.

  9. Mari said

    I’ve been browsing online more than three hours nowadays, yet I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is pretty price sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you did, the net will likely be a lot more useful than ever before.

  10. An interesting discussion is worth comment.
    I do believe that you ought to write more on this issue,
    it may not be a taboo subject but usually people do not
    talk about such subjects. To the next! Best wishes!
    !

  11. Helpful info. Fortunate me I discovered your website accidentally, and I’m shocked why this coincidence didn’t came about in advance!

    I bookmarked it.

  12. Howdy would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog
    in 3 different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.

    Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a honest price?
    Cheers, I appreciate it!

  13. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d
    post to let you know. The design look great though! Hope you get the problem solved soon.
    Thanks

  14. I am really loving the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my
    site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks
    great in Opera. Do you have any tips to help fix this
    issue?

  15. It’s fantastic that you are getting thoughts from this article as well as from our argument made at this time.

  16. Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was curious
    about your situation; many of us have developed some nice
    methods and we are looking to swap methods with other folks,
    please shoot me an email if interested.

  17. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post posted at this web page is really pleasant.

  18. Good information. Lucky me I discovered your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book marked it for later!

  19. When I originally left a comment I appear to
    have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time
    a comment is added I recieve four emails with the same
    comment. Is there a way you can remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  20. I сreate a leave a геsponse wɦnever I appreciate a article
    օn a site or I hɑve something to add to tɦe cߋnversation.
    Usually it’s caused by tҺhe sinϲerness dieplayed in
    the post I read. And onn this article Valiant
    Miniatures: “British Tommies 44-45″ Review Elianto e i Mondi
    Alterei. I was eҳciteԁ enough to leave a comment :) I do have
    a few questions foг yοu if ƴou don’t mind.
    Is it only me or do a few of the responseѕ come across liкe they are written by braiո dеad
    individuals? :-P And, іf you are posting on additiоnal sites, I would like to keеp up with anything new you have to poѕt.

    Could you list every one ߋf your shared pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, oг linkedin profile?

  21. Link exchange is nothing else but it is just placing the other person’s blog link on your page at proper place and other person will also
    do similar in support of you.

Rispondi

 
